School Services Officers 

In each school all staff, including principals, teachers, School Services Officers, Aboriginal Education Workers, and groundspersons, work together as a team to provide high quality education for students.

As a team, teachers and SSOs share common interests in secure jobs, career development and salary justice. These interests are best protected and improved by the AEU, which works exclusively in the education profession. Membership of the AEU also enables you to share in the democratic decision-making processes at your site.

SSO Consultative Committee

The SSO Consultative Committee is a group of nine SSOs elected annually. The Committee provides information and advice to AEU Branch Executive on matters that affect SSOs.

The Committee is representative of SSOs who work in country, metropolitan, primary, secondary, area, and special schools.

Anne Nutt SSO Activism Award

The Anne Nutt SSO Activism Award is given annually to an SSO member who deserves recognition for their activism in supporting their colleagues and the work of the union.

The award in Anne Nutt’s name is usually presented at the annual SSO Conference, and includes a prize of $1000 for professional learning.

Click here for more details.